Click to visit GAUGEMASTER's home page.
Click to visit Racing Lines home page.

Racers at Beaulieu

Image of Matt TaylorMATT TAYLOR visits the National Motor Museum at Beaulieu to see what racers they have on show.

Click to see more Racing Lines Articles

Earlier this month I visited the National Motor Museum at Beaulieu in Hampshire. I thought that you would appreciate seeing some of the racing cars that are in the vast collection.

Allard J2

The car was driven by company founder Sydney Allard in the 1950 RAC Tourist Trophy at Dundrod. It later passed to Ellis Cuff-Miller, who founded a Ford dealership in Littlehampton near to Gaugemaster HQ. Cuff-Miller drove the car at the Goodwood International in September 1954.

TWR Jaguar XJR-8 Replica

This replica of the 1987 World Sports-Prototype Championship-winning Jaguar XJR-8 was built as a show car and restored using many original race car parts. Driver Raul Boesel from Brazil is represented on the livery.

McLaren Mercedes MP4/21

The 2006 McLaren only achieved third in the Constructor's Championship behind Renault and Ferrari. Halfway through the season, McLaren driver Juan Pablo Montoya announced that he was leaving the team to join NASCAR. This show car now displays the livery of Jenson Button's 2010 McLaren after winning the Driver's Championship for Brawn the year before.

Williams Renault FW18

Damon Hill used this Williams as his test car for most of 1996, the year he won the Driver's Championship. It was used by Jacques Villeneuve in his first three ever Formula One races, in which he achieved Pole Position in the first race in Australia, and then finished second in the same race and then Argentina two races later.

Michael Schumacher's Ferrari F310 V10 Replica

This is a replica of Michael Schumacher's car from 1996, in which he came third in the Driver's Championship and Ferrari came second in the Constructor's, behind a dominant Williams team.

Go Back To Top

Lotus E30

The 2012 F1 Season saw eight different drivers win races. Kimi Raikkonen drove this Lotus to victory at Abu Dhabi and with six other podium finishes secured third in the Driver's Championship.

McLaren Peugeot MP4/9

This car was built for the 1994 F1 season, when new regulations meant that many technical aids were banned. This car chassis managed second places for Martin Brundle in Monaco and Mika Hakkinen in Belgium, in the first year since 1981 that McLaren did not win a race. This was the first year that Michael Schumacher won a World Championship, driving for Benetton.

Ford Escort RS1800 Rally Car

This MkII Escort was built by David Sutton Motorsport for Finnish rally driver Ari Vatanen to compete in the RAC Rally in 1981. The competition was won by fellow Finn, Hannu Mikkola, in the 4WD Audi Quattro.

Audi Quattro A2 Rally Car

The Quattro A2 was built to the new Group B regulations in 1983, and this car was driven to victory in the Hong Kong - Beijing Rally in 1985 and again the next year by Stig Blomqvist from Sweden. The Dutchman John Bosch drove the car to victory in the 1987 Indonesian Rally.

The National Motor Museum is well worth a visit for car enthusiasts if you find yourself in that part of the world.

Go Back To Top